An interview with Janina Matthewson

The lovely Janina Matthewson, author of Of Things Gone Astray, agreed to answer some questions from BookieMonster.  I don’t really need to say this but congratulations on how amazing Of Things Gone Astray is! It’s such an original book. What was the initial idea or impetus behind connecting all these characters with a “thing which/that […]

Continue reading →

Voyages in America by James Robinson

Voyages in America: A Story of Homes Lost and Found by James Robinson, ISBN 9780692223659, ask your favourite bookshop to order or buy from Amazon. When you encounter America for the first time it’s an odd experience. Our culture, despite our insistence on experiencing “overseas” mostly through the UK, is saturated with images, ideas and […]

Continue reading →

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson

Of Things Gone Astray cover image

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson, The Friday Project (Harper Collins NZ) A highly original debut novel from a New Zealand writer, Of Things Gone Astray is witty, moving and thoughtful. On a normal morning in London things start disappearing for a small group of characters. Things like a sense of direction, a workplace […]

Continue reading →