A Slip of the Keyboard: Collected Non-fiction by Terry Pratchett

A Slip of the Keyboard: Collected Non-fiction by Terry Pratchett, foreword by Neil Gaiman, Doubleday, ISBN 9780857521224, RRP $54.99 “Terry Pratchett,” writes Neil Gaiman in the foreword to this tome, “is not a jolly old elf at all.” Oh readers, did any of us really think he was? Can anyone read the words of Death […]

Continue reading →

Glory Days magazine issue 8

Glory Days vintage lifestyle magazine, issue 8, RRP $16.90. Buy or subscribe online Yep, Glory Days magazine issue 8 is here and this month the focus is on Americana and country style. Including a Q & A with Dolly Parton. Dolly Parton! There’s an eclectic mix of articles this month, covering country music, interior design/deco, […]

Continue reading →

Reach by Laurence Fearnley

Reach by Laurence Fearnley, Penguin, ISBN 9780143571728, RRP $38 You know how sometimes you start reading a book and you think about the characters in a certain way and then they change and you realise you were totally assuming they were this type of character, when it turns out they’re actually not, and it’s a […]

Continue reading →

BookieMonster is on the radio

This week saw me make my radio debut with two short but almost perfectly formed reviews: Opal Plumstead by Jacqueline Wilson (Doubleday) Spark by Rachael Craw (Walker Books) I’ll be contributing more book reviews every fortnight to the More FM Waikato Morning show so make sure you listen out or keep an eye out on […]

Continue reading →

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →