Win a copy of Play in the Garden by Sarah O’Neil

Kids don’t have the patience or the interest in having their own garden patch, they just want to have fun! Sarah O’Neil knows this well. Her series of clever outdoor projects will get kids outside throughout the growing season, having fun in the vegetable garden. While learning to grow vegetables is covered in the book, […]

Continue reading →

Win a copy of Opal Plumstead by Jacqueline Wilson

Opal Plumstead cover image

Opal Plumstead might be plain, but she has always been fiercely intelligent. Yet her scholarship and dreams of university are snatched away when her father is sent to prison, and fourteen-year-old Opal must start work at the Fairy Glen sweet factory to support her family. Opal struggles to get along with the other workers, who […]

Continue reading →

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: Passing Through by Coral Atkinson

Passing Through cover image

Passing Through by Coral Atkinson, Dancing Tuatara in association with Whitireia Publishing, ISBN 9780473262693, RRP $34.95 It’s no surprise that, along with a good portion of the rest of the world, New Zealand is reassessing and revisiting its role and shared history in World War One, now that we are into the period of 100 year […]

Continue reading →