An interview with Janina Matthewson

The lovely Janina Matthewson, author of Of Things Gone Astray, agreed to answer some questions from BookieMonster.  I don’t really need to say this but congratulations on how amazing Of Things Gone Astray is! It’s such an original book. What was the initial idea or impetus behind connecting all these characters with a “thing which/that […]

Continue reading →

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →