Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher

This review first appeared in the NZ Herald on Sunday, 23 November 2014. Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher (The Friday Project) A hilarious take on academia, Dear Committee Members is an epistolary novel (in other words, written in letters). Professor Jason Fitger is constantly called upon to write letters of recommendation for students, fellow academics […]

Continue reading →

Run Thomas Run by Kate Carty

Run Thomas Run by Kate Carty, Escalator Press, ISBN 9780473295240 Novels about Assyrians, Iraq and the 1991 and 2003 wars/invasions/emancipations(?) aren’t exactly a “genre” for New Zealand writers but Kate Carty is uniquely set up to have produced this novel. According to her bio she married into an Assyrian Iraqi family which probably explains why […]

Continue reading →

Reach by Laurence Fearnley

Reach by Laurence Fearnley, Penguin, ISBN 9780143571728, RRP $38 You know how sometimes you start reading a book and you think about the characters in a certain way and then they change and you realise you were totally assuming they were this type of character, when it turns out they’re actually not, and it’s a […]

Continue reading →

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson

Of Things Gone Astray cover image

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson, The Friday Project (Harper Collins NZ) A highly original debut novel from a New Zealand writer, Of Things Gone Astray is witty, moving and thoughtful. On a normal morning in London things start disappearing for a small group of characters. Things like a sense of direction, a workplace […]

Continue reading →