The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson

Of Things Gone Astray cover image

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson, The Friday Project (Harper Collins NZ) A highly original debut novel from a New Zealand writer, Of Things Gone Astray is witty, moving and thoughtful. On a normal morning in London things start disappearing for a small group of characters. Things like a sense of direction, a workplace […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: Passing Through by Coral Atkinson

Passing Through cover image

Passing Through by Coral Atkinson, Dancing Tuatara in association with Whitireia Publishing, ISBN 9780473262693, RRP $34.95 It’s no surprise that, along with a good portion of the rest of the world, New Zealand is reassessing and revisiting its role and shared history in World War One, now that we are into the period of 100 year […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: The Auckland Book

The Auckland Book cover image

The Auckland Book by Nigel Beckford, Michael Fitzsimons, Patrick Fitzsimons, Alisha Brunton, Jess Lunnon, Sandi MacKechnie, Cynthia Merhej, Ivy Niu, Sarah Ryan, Ezra Whittaker-Powley, FitzBeck Creative, ISBN 9780473286033, RRP $45.00 From the team that brought us The Wellington Book and the brilliant The NZ Book there’s now a similarly beautiful The Auckland Book. Written and illustrated […]

Continue reading →

Book review: The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Queen of the Tearling cover image

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, Random House, Available now. The Queen of the Tearling arrived on my doorstep in some simple but elegant little packaging, with warm grey tissue paper wrapping tied in a red bow, a little card attached with the title and author. The accompanying marketing blurb was nicely printed on a […]

Continue reading →

20 years of magic captured in Weta’s 20th anniversary books

Stories and achievements of Weta Workshop and Weta Digital brought to life The celebrations of 20 years of film-making from the Weta Group will kick off with the launch today of two stunning books capturing the history of the Weta companies. The books, Weta Digital: 20 Years of Imagination on Screen and Weta Workshop: Celebrating […]

Continue reading →