Win a copy of Opal Plumstead by Jacqueline Wilson

Opal Plumstead cover image

Opal Plumstead might be plain, but she has always been fiercely intelligent. Yet her scholarship and dreams of university are snatched away when her father is sent to prison, and fourteen-year-old Opal must start work at the Fairy Glen sweet factory to support her family. Opal struggles to get along with the other workers, who […]

Continue reading →

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert

The Sovereign Hand

The Sovereign Hand by Paul Gilbert, Steampress, buy now. Fans of Gormenghast and China Miéville should drop everything and get themselves a copy of The Sovereign Hand as soon as they can. An amazingly detailed and hugely ambitious tale on an epic scale, it’s the debut fantasy novel from New Zealand writer Paul Gilbert. We […]

Continue reading →

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson

Of Things Gone Astray cover image

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson, The Friday Project (Harper Collins NZ) A highly original debut novel from a New Zealand writer, Of Things Gone Astray is witty, moving and thoughtful. On a normal morning in London things start disappearing for a small group of characters. Things like a sense of direction, a workplace […]

Continue reading →